The Islands of Juan Fernandez

The archipelago is certainly referred to as Juan Fernandez after the Spanish navigator of that name. He discovered the islands in 1574. Sometimes the main island is called by that name. In fact it was named Mas a Tierra or Masa Tierra. In 1966 Chile renamed the island 'Robinson Crusoe'. The other island in the group has been called Mas a Fuera, Masa Feuro and was also renamed in 1966. It is now named Alejandro Selkirk. Alexander Selkirk was, in fact, marooned on the main island.